First Missed Deadline?

img_1396
Whelp. Looks like I missed my first daily post. I got a bit caught up with some work due at midnight as well as setting up some college interviews so let’s just pretend this didn’t happen!


QOTD: “…all courage was a form of constancy. That is was always himself that the coward abandoned first.” -Dueña Alfonsa from All the Pretty Horses by Cormac McCarthy

SOT: School. Announcements notified of a shortened schedule (periods were around 25 min. long) due to chance of snow (in N.C. we shut down school at the slightest warnings of snow). Connie and I came back to my place around 1:55 and did CS programs and made a pizza. Took her home at ~4:15. Mom went shopping at Trader Joes and got me sushi! Heard about a deadly shooting at Ft. Lauderdale-Hollywood airport as well. Had CS programs due at midnight which is what took me a while to do!



I actually want to start off by talking about the QOTD. I’m currently reading All the Pretty Horses in my AP Lit. class and came across that quote as a I was reading this morning before leaving for school. I don’t know why it struck me as it did but some background first:

All the Pretty Horses is centered around a western romantic named John Grady who has idealized notions of the world. He is essentially on a quest to find this utopia in Mexico but learns the hard way that he must come of age as everyone else has in this dawning era of the Industrial revolution. The Dueña Alfonsa is the run-of-the-mill, all-wise, omnipotent, omnipresent, omniscient background character who often drops wise leads for John Grady but seldom does he listen. Alfonsa goes on an existential dialogue narrating her life and the woes of modern society with age of Industry.

The quote itself was one that I immediately wrote down after reading it most likely because I felt a powerful message inside of it that resounded with my own character. Growing up, I often was my own biggest enemy/obstacle. Whether it be from lack of confidence or self-doubt, I tend to plant the negative side of things in my mind before I even consider the positive. My mother always reminds me that much of the things I feel are truly just in my head. This ties in to one of my New Year’s resolutions in that I need to just put myself out there and try new things. And hopefully I will. And speaking of New Year’s resolutions, I’m losing some desperately needed sleep (so much for going to bed before 12 each night?) so with that, goodnight to all!

Leave a Reply

