Second Day Struggles and New Year’s Resolutions

img_3414

QOTD: “I can calculate the motion of heavenly bodies, but not the madness of people.” -Sir Isaac Newton

SOT (Summary of Today): Woke up around 9:00 to breakfast and an already-made lunch of Trader Joe’s Mac ‘N Cheese (Can’t thank my mom enough). Normal school day. Took Connie home, got my Sapling access code for my UNC Econ 101 class in the mail, and went to work on my UPenn supplemental essay. After today, I will have finished all my applications (save the tedious scholarship applications next). Yay.



It’s only the second day and I’m already seeing how much discipline this might take. I find it difficult to come up with something meaningful to share but I think that’s only because I’m a perfectionist. I have to realize that sometimes, simpler can be better and not every journal has to be extraordinary. I often don’t want to write things that appear trivial to me because I feel like it’s not something worse saying. But now I’m starting to see that these small posts will give me something to look back on. In the grander scheme of things, I will hopefully have ~365 individual posts that lets me see a bigger picture rather than dwell in the minute details. One post is only one stroke of the paintbrush and that’s something that I do need to realize. Often times, I require too much “instant gratification” and always avoid working for a theoretical “later.” It’s only the second day, but I’m already seeing some of my own flaws that I hope to be able to correct.

I also want to try and start a new trend on each my posts. For each day, I’m going to share a quote of the day and a summary of my day that include general info, something that I learned from the day, and/or a memory (big or small) that I wish to look back on.

So with that, for today I think I will just share some of my New Year’s resolutions.

  1. keep a journal (Doing that here!)
  2. sleep more (i.e. before 12) and drink more water
    • finish homework before a certain time each day (if past that time, then just stop and go to bed)
  3. take more pictures (with friends, family, or in general) to save the memories
  4. be more considerate of other people
  5. be there for your friends and family
  6. remember how to have fun every once in a while
  7. Put yourself out there

In summary, the biggest takeaway I want from my resolutions is just to develop a better work ethic in everything that I do. Here’s to 360 more days, let’s hope everything comes full circle (see what I did there?).

One thought on “Second Day Struggles and New Year’s Resolutions

Leave a Reply

